print Font Size: small font medium font large font

Richard P. Santos, Director - District 3


Richard Santos   
Re-elected:  November 2012
Term expires:  December 2016

Board Ad Hoc Committee Assignments:
Pacheco Reservoir Exploratory Ad Hoc Committee
Water Conservation Ad Hoc Committee

Board Advisory Committee Assignments:
Agricultural Water Advisory Committee

Joint Committee Assignments:
Joint Recycled Water Advisory Committee - Sunnyvale
San Felipe Division Reach One Committee

External Committee Assignments

Landscape Committee
Northern California Latino Water Coalition (Alt.)
Pajaro River Watershed Flood Protection Authority (Alt.)
Santa Clara Valley Habitat Conservation Plan Joint Powers Authority
San Luis Delta Mendota Water Authority Board - Division 4
Santa Clara County Emergency Operations Area Council (Alt.)
South County Regional Wastewater Authority (Alt.)

Alviso resident Richard Santos retired as a Fire Captain from the San Jose Fire Department
with 33 years of service. During his tenure at the San Jose Fire Department, he was elected
vice chair for 12 years on the San Jose Police and Fire Retirement Board and was a labor
representative of the San Jose Firefighters local union. He was then and is still very active as
a volunteer for community services and as chair, spearheaded several civic activity fundraiser
projects. He was appointed to the 28-member South Bay Salt Pond Restoration Committee.

Richard was appointed by the San Jose Mayor and City Council to the Envision San Jose 2040
General Plan 37-member task force, and recognized as "Citizen of the Year for 2006" by the
Berryessa Citizen Advisory Council.

Richard earned his Bachelor's degree in public administration from Farelston and Nova Colleges
and Associate's degrees in police science and fire science. He also has a lifetime teaching
credential from the California Community College system, where he taught fire science at Mission

Director Santos may be contacted by e-mail at or by phone at (408)234-7707. 

Correspondence to the Santa Clara Valley Water District Board Members may be sent via
e-mail to: